Unity Statement: Give Every Filipino a Chance to Vote

We, the academe, civil society organizations, youth groups, and sectoral leaders, call on the national government and election stakeholders to extend the voter registration deadline and ramp up voter registration initiatives to ensure that all eligible Filipino voters will be able to participate in the upcoming 2022 elections.

Citing the data from the Philippine Statistics Authority presented by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC), a projected 73.3 million Filipinos are eligible to vote by 2022, with the youth accounting for more than 25 million. As of now, there are only 60 million who are registered to vote. This means, more than 13.3 million[1] Filipinos are not yet registered.

Given the multiple hard lockdowns in various parts of the country and the closure of satellite voter registration sites due to the Delta variant of the coronavirus pandemic, concluding voter’s registration too early may risk disenfranchising the 13.3 million unregistered potential voters. Based on previous elections, this number is enough to change the outcome of the upcoming 2022 national and local elections.

In a time where democratic spaces are being challenged, now more than ever, it is important to value and ensure that we have exhausted all means to provide every eligible Filipino voter a chance for their voice to be heard.

Nevertheless, we welcome the efforts of COMELEC that allow more people to register before the September 30 deadline that includes an online voter reactivation status for persons with disabilities (PWDs) and senior citizens, and an extension of voter registration hours.

Alongside these initiatives, we further call for specific measures such as increasing the number of satellite voter registration sites by partnering with local universities and colleges; exploring ways to accommodate first-time voters especially non-working and out-of-school youth; and adopting a multi-stakeholder approach in developing and implementing voter registration campaigns.

Sustainability and resiliency are two complementing concepts that strengthen the foundation of healthier and more inclusive societies. As the 2022 Philippine national elections draw near, we should call on the government and all other electoral stakeholders to infuse resilience into sustainability in our democratic processes for them to work.

The concepts of resiliency and sustainability, when done in practice, will result in the Filipino people not only being able to feel that they are encouraged to politically participate but also are empowered to make informed choices for our country.

[1] Source: Proposed Senate Resolution Urging the COMELEC to Extend the Deadline for Voter Registration from September 30, 2021 to October 31, 2021 to Prevent Voter Disenfranchisement Brought About by the COVID-19 Pandemic


Ateneo School of Government (ASOG)

La Salle Institute of Governance (LSIG)

National Citizens’ Movement for Free Elections (NAMFREL)

Caucus of Development NGO Networks Inc. (CODE-NGO)

Initiatives for Dialogue and Empowerment through Alternative Legal Services Inc. (IDEALS)

Action Bridges Aspiration Trainings Inc. - Maluso Branch

Active Moro Alliance For Development

Active Vista Center, Inc.

Active Young Saver Society

Adlawan SK Youth

Advocates and Leaders for Action and Awareness (ADLAAW)

AIESEC in the Philippines

Aktibong Kabataan ng Dampalit (AKDA)

Al-barka Youth Serving Association

Al-Fauj Al-Imanie Philippines

Alamin Abdullah MALIGA

Aljalis Assalih Inc. (The Good Companion) -Pagadian City Chapter

Alliance of Magnanimous Youth Leaders Inc. (AMYL) - Cotabato City

Alliance of Magnanimous Youth Leaders, Inc. (AMYL) - Datu Anggal Midtimbang

Alliance Youth Philippines

Alpha Kappa Rho International Humanitarian Service Fraternity and Sorority Inc. - Maimbung Chapter

Alpha Phi Omega Lambda Nu Chapter

Alyansa ng Kabataang Mindanao para sa Kapayapaan (AKMK)

Alyansa Pasig Youth Group

Anak ng Tribu Higaunen-Talaandig Association

Asbury College, Inc.

Association of Foundations, Inc. (AF)

Asturias Youth Organization

Ateneo Center for Culture and the Arts (ACCA)

Ateneo Center for Leadership and Governance (ACLG)

Ateneo Peace Institute (API)

Awladul Islam Islamic Propagation

Ayala Young Leaders Alumni Association Inc. (AYLAA)

Bacolod Youth Coalition for Democracy


Bangsamoro Young Leaders Program - Leadership Communities

Barangay X SK Council - Roxas City

Basilan Youth Development initiative movement

Batangas State University Alangilan Campus - Supreme Student Council

Benta Uno

Bicol University College of Engineering - College Student Council - Albay

Bicol University College of Engineering - College Student Council - Guinobatan

Brotherhood of Christian Businessmen and Professionals (BCBP)

Bukluran ng mga Katutubo para sa Pangangalaga ng Kalikasan sa Pilipinas


Capiz Eco - Youth Volunteers

CapSU - Main Campus

CCC Student Parliament

Cebu Coalition of Student Councils

Cebuano Youth Ambassadors, Inc.

Center for Community Extension Services (CCES) Ateneo de Zamboanga

Central Mindanao University

Central Visayas Network of NGOs and POs (CENVISNET)

Christian Family Movement

Coalition of Moro Youth Movement

Colegio San Agustin - Bacolod Student Government

College of Education Students' Society

Collegiate of Engineering Council

Communicators' Society LPU-Laguna

CTE League of Leaders

Dagook Sindaw Kalombayan

Democracy Watch Philippines

Democratic Alliance Student for Integrated Governance

Department of Education (DepEd) Bulacan

Division of Bulacan Federation of Supreme Student Government and Pinas Forward Bulacan

Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University - South La Union Campus CSBO (DMMMSU-SLUC CSBO)

Eastern Visayas Network of NGOs and POs (EVNET)


El Fuente PH

Fatima Vigan Multi Purpose Cooperative

Federation of Trans-Parochial Charismatic Communities (FTCC)

FEU Public Policy Center

Foundation for Media Alternatives (FMA)

Future Leader of the Philippines Capsu Dumarao Chapter

Future Leaders of the Philippines CapSU Dayao Chapter

Gawad Laguna Inc.

Gerry Roxas Leadership Awardee - Aklan

Gerry Roxas Leadership Awardees - Iloilo

GMA Cavite Youth Organization

Good Governance Initiative


Government Watch (G-Watch)

Green Eco Warrior

H.O.S.T Organization

Hagonoy Young Leaders Program (HYLeaP)

Hijab for a Cause

Humanities and Social Sciences Council - Liceo de La Salle

Humans Helping Humans Initiative

I Connect Youth Network


Innovations for Poverty Action

Institute for Studies in Asian Church and Culture (ISACC)

International Association of Youth and Student for Peace

International Order of the Rainbow for Girls

Iranun Youth Initiative


Juan Youth Network

Junior Philippine Pharmacists Association - AUF

Junior Philippine Society For Public Administration - Central Visayas Chapter

Junior Philippine Society for Public Administration - NCR Chapter

Junior Philippine Society for Public Administration (JPSA) - Western Visayas

Junior Philippine Society for Public Administration Central Luzon Chapter

Junior Philippine Society for Public Administration North Luzon Chapter

Junior Philippine Society of Public Administration - Southern Tagalog

Kabataan Moro - Mamasapano

Kabataan sa Kartilya ng Katipunan

Kabataang Likha ni Pedro

Kabataang Lingkod Bayan ng Pilipinas

Kabataang San Joseño Movement

Kabataang Tambuli ng Pasig

Kajatian Active Youth Organization

Kalibo Youth Development Office

Kapisanan ng mga Guro sa Araling Panlipunan Sangay ng Lungsod ng Butuan Inc

Kapisanan ng mga Mag-aaral ng Araling Panlipunan (KMAP)

Katipunan Ng Kabataan - Barangay San Juan

Katipunan ng Kabataan - San Francisco

Kilos Ko Youth - Esperanza, Sultan Kudarat

Kilos Ko Youth - Imus

Kusug Batah Sug Inc.

Lakas Kabataan Sulu Youth Power Inc.

League of Young Catalyst

LENTE Philippines